Credits are the virtual currency of Telescope Live.
They are used to grab One-Click Observations and to submit Advanced Requests to our telescope network.
Depending on your plan, you will receive a monthly credit allowance. The Bronze plan gives you 5 credits per month, Silver 20 credits/month, Gold 50 credits/month, Platinum 150 credits/month, Diamond 250 credits/month.
You can carry over your credit balance from one month to the next as long as you are subscribed to any of our plans.
If you unsubscribe, your credit balance will expire after three months (but see the note below if you bought credits before 1st January 2022)
The cost of a One-Click Observation in credits depends on the telescope used, the total exposure time of the observation, and the discounts applied. Taking into account discounts, the average cost of a One-Click Observation is 0.7 credits.
The cost of your Advanced Requests will be charged in credits and depends on telescope utilisation and moon phase. The telescope utilisation is the sum of the total exposure time of your images, the observation overheads. The cost in credits of telescope utilisation obviously depends on which telescope you're using plus the discount given if you observe at high moon illuminations. You can check our Telescope price list.
If you deplete your monthly credit allowance, you can buy additional credits. The unit cost of 1 credit bought outside of your plan is $1.4, €1.50, £1.4, A$2.20 and C$1.80, the currency will depend on your country of residency. Discounts will apply if you buy more than 250 credits.
You can buy credits directly from the Telescope Live app, using your credit card.
Unused credits accumulate month after month. However, if you unsubscribe, credits will expire 3 months after you unsubscribe.
Please note that credits are not refundable.
If you bought credits before 1st January 2022
The credits that you bought before 1st January 2022, will not expire. However, we do reserve the right to delete your account, together with your credit balance, if you don't use your account or you don't resubscribe for one year.